Tervetuloa Tanka - suomalaisen tanssin tietokantaan

Database search

In period of time
picture122.jpg In the picture: Teemu Kyytinen, Jyrki Karttunen
Photo: Ninna Lindström

Digital Duende

Choreographer Karttunen, Jyrki
First Performance 20.11.1998
Place of First Performance Art museum of the City of Joensuu
Finnish premiere 20.11.1998
Place of Premiere Art museum of the City of Joensuu
Style Contemporary Dance
Duration (min) 30
Scenography Jyrki Karttunen, Kimmo Karjunen
Costume designer työryhmä (artistic team)
Lighting Designer Jyrki Karttunen, Kimmo Karjunen
Sound designer Jyrki Karttunen, Kimmo Karjunen
Performers of the premiere Jyrki Karttunen, Teemu Kyytinen.
Other music Saint-Preux: Concerto pour une voix, es./per. The London Symphonic world; C. Curet Alonso: Puro Teatro, es./per. La Lupe; Hugues Le Bars: Mets l'ange, es./per. Hugues Le Bars; Trad.: Se nos rompió el amor, es./per. Fernanda & Bernarda de Utrera; Ch. Navarro: Lo Dudo, es. Los Panchos.

Description Finland meets Spain in this detailed encounter for two men. The Hispanic accents are not the result of research, but rather accumulated through enjoyment of popular music and movies, and any extravagance is contained within the Nordic confines of a computer generated system.
The title of Digital Duende leads to the world of opposites and extremes. The starting point is a two-way illusion; a unique, passing moment (duende), and a systematic structure (digital). On one hand, this refers to pure soul and emotion, and an adamant efficiency of the core system on the other.
The digital part of the title, however, does not refer to a sturdy stage technique; the stage realisation of this duet is light and easily movable. Instead the choreographer has obtained digital elements in the choreographic structure and the movement material of this work.
Other Information Original production: Nomadi Productions. The work is in the repertory of Karttunen Kollektiv 2008 onwards.
Companies Karttunen Kollektiv
Nomadi Productions
Dancers Karttunen, Jyrki (1998)
Kyytinen, Teemu (1998)
Vesterinen, Eero (2003)
Paloniemi, Mikko (2010)