Tervetuloa Tanka - suomalaisen tanssin tietokantaan

Database search

In period of time

Esitys - A Performance

Choreographer Raekallio, Valtteri
First Performance 19.2.2016
Place of First Performance Cultural Centre Valve, Oulu
Finnish premiere 19.2.2017
Place of Premiere Valvesali, Cultural Centre Valve, Oulu
Style Contemporary Dance
Duration (min) 60
Lighting Designer Jukka Huitila
Performers of the premiere Mirva Mäkinen, Eero Vesterinen, Valtteri Raekallio
Other music FM3, Richard Skelton, Jacaszek
Description Esitys – A Performance subverts the relationship between performers and audience, fusing contemporary dance with experimental performance and questioning the power structures of the stage event. Who ultimately watches whom, and who holds the position of power in a performance?

The production continues Raekallio’s collaboration with poet Eino Santanen, and is based on Santanen’s upcoming poetry collection Yleisö (Audience).

In Esitys – A Performance, two different performances, built on contrasting conventions, happen simultaneously on the same stage. The finely wrought movement-based duet by Mäkinen and Vesterinen explores the changing dynamics of a couple’s relationship. At the same time, Raekallio’s performative solo, based on Santanen’s text, continuously redefines its own basis for existence and asks the audience, what do they see when they look at dance? The representations of the different performances take place concurrently and leak into each other.

What are the limits and possibilities of dance on the stage and in an audience relationship? How many “social performance contracts” can be in force at the same time? If the performance looks at the audience, who has the power? Can the divide between rhetorics and motorics be bridged? Can this gap be performatized?
Other Information Concept and realization: Valtteri Raekallio
Poetry: Eino Santanen
Translation: Thomas Freundlich
Set design assistant: Aino Koski
Companies Raekallio Corp.
Dancers Mäkinen, Mirva (2016)
Vesterinen, Eero (2016)
Vesterinen, Eero (2016)
Raekallio, Valtteri (2016)